Comparison · facts as of October 14, 2026
ScaleMax vs buying the OpenAI API directly
Go direct to OpenAI for first-party terms, every OpenAI endpoint and new features on release day. Use ScaleMax to pay for GPT models in rupees with UPI, run Codex CLI on a prepaid key, and reach Claude, Gemini and DeepSeek with the same key.
ScaleMax wrote this page. Every OpenAI API fact below comes from the public pages listed under Sources, read on October 14, 2026. Where a page does not say something, the table says “Not stated”. Check the source before deciding — pricing and features change.
Side by side
| ScaleMax | OpenAI API | |
|---|---|---|
| How you pay | UPI, cards and net banking in INR (PayU, Cashfree), crypto (Cryptomus) | Prepaid API credit billed in US dollars to a card; UPI not offered |
| Payment fees | No payment processing fee on any method — the checkout total is the charge | Your bank may add foreign-currency charges on a USD card payment |
| API | Chat Completions, Responses, embeddings and image generation on the models ScaleMax lists | Every OpenAI endpoint, including ones ScaleMax does not offer |
| Other model families | Claude (also over native Anthropic Messages), Gemini, DeepSeek and more on the same key | OpenAI models only |
| New features | Follows OpenAI’s releases; a new model or feature may arrive later | First, on release day |
| Terms | ScaleMax’s terms and privacy policy; ScaleMax is not affiliated with OpenAI | OpenAI’s own commercial terms |
| Credit packs | The smallest pack costs $2.50 (₹250) and adds $25 of usage credit; larger packs add up to 11× their price. | Not stated on the cited page |
Where the OpenAI API is stronger
- Every OpenAI endpoint and model, including the newest, on release day.
- A direct contract and data terms with OpenAI.
- Organisation, project and usage-tier controls in the OpenAI console.
Where ScaleMax is stronger
- Pay in rupees with UPI, Indian cards or net banking.
- Codex CLI and the OpenAI SDKs work with only the base URL and key changed.
- One prepaid key for GPT plus Claude, Gemini and DeepSeek.
- Credit packs that add more usage credit than they cost.
Which should you choose?
Choose the OpenAI API if
- You need an OpenAI endpoint or model ScaleMax does not list.
- You need OpenAI’s own contract or organisation controls.
Choose ScaleMax if
- You are in India and want to pay with UPI in rupees.
- You want GPT, Claude and Gemini on one key.
- You want Codex CLI set up with one command.
Switching to ScaleMax
- Buy a ScaleMax key that includes OpenAI models.
- Set base_url (Python) or baseURL (Node) to https://api.scalemax.pro/v1 and use your ScaleMax key.
- Use the GPT model IDs ScaleMax lists, for example gpt-6-sol or gpt-5.6-terra.
client = OpenAI(
base_url="https://api.scalemax.pro/v1",
api_key=os.environ["SCALEMAX_API_KEY"],
)Sources
- OpenAI API pricing — read October 14, 2026
- ScaleMax refund policy — read October 14, 2026
ScaleMax is not affiliated with OpenRouter, Requesty, Anthropic or OpenAI. Product names are used only to identify the services compared.
ScaleMax vs buying the OpenAI API directly: questions
Can I pay for the OpenAI API with UPI?
Not directly, as of 14 October 2026: OpenAI bills API credit in US dollars to a card. ScaleMax sells GPT API access you can pay for with UPI, cards or net banking in rupees.
Does the OpenAI Python SDK work with ScaleMax?
Yes. Create the client with base_url="https://api.scalemax.pro/v1" and your ScaleMax key; chat.completions and responses calls work on the models your key includes.
Is ScaleMax affiliated with OpenAI?
No. ScaleMax is an independent API provider that serves GPT models through OpenAI-compatible endpoints.
More comparisons and guides
See it on your own prompts
Start with $2 of free trial credit, or buy a prepaid key in rupees or dollars. No subscription.